Monday, February 24, 2020

Look Back at 20 Years of Best New Artist Grammy Winners to See If the Award Is a Career Climb or a Curse

773
SHARES
12.9k
VIEWS

move

It’s almost time for the 2020 Grammy Awards!

Lizzo heads into the night with the most nominations. She’s up in eight categories, including Record of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year. However, Billie Eilish and Lil Nas X follow closely behind with six nods apiece. 

All three of these musicians are first-time nominees. They’re also all in the running for Best New Artist along with Black Pumas, Maggie Rogers, Rosalía, Tank and the Bangas and Yola

While fans will have to wait until this Sunday to see who takes home the trophy, one thing is for sure: Whoever wins will be in very good company. Alicia Keys, Adele, Carrie Underwood, John Legend, Maroon 5 and Christina Aguilera are just a few of the superstars to win Best New Artist. Dua Lipa also won the award last year.

For some, the award is a career breakthrough. For others, it’s a curse.

To see for yourself, check out the gallery.

Christina Aguilera, 2000 Grammy Awards

Scott Gries/ImageDirect

Shelby Lynne, 2001 Grammy Awards

Dave Hogan/Getty Images

Alicia Keys, 2002 Grammy Awards

Frank Micelotta/ImageDirect/Getty Images

Norah Jones, 2003 Grammy Awards

Larry Busacca/WireImage.com

 Evanescence, Amy Lee, 2003 Grammy Awards

Frank Micelotta/Getty Images

Maroon 5, 2005 Grammy Awards

Getty Images

John Legend, 2006 Grammy Awards

Michael Caulfield/WireImage

Carrie Underwood, 2007 Grammy Awards

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Amy Winehouse, Mitch Winehouse, 2008 Grammy Awards

Peter Macdiarmid/Getty Images for NARAS

Adele, Grammys, 2009

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Zac Brown Band, Grammy Winner

JOE KLAMAR/AFP/Getty Images

Esperanza Spalding, 2011 Grammy Awards

AP Photo/Matt Sayles

Justin Vernon, Bon Iver, 2012 Grammy Awards

Kevin Winter/Getty Image

Fun., 2013 Grammy Awards

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Ryan Lewis, Macklemore, First Grammys

Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

Sam Smith, 2015, Grammy Awards, Winner

John Shearer/Invision/AP

Meghan Trainor, 2016 Grammy Awards, Winners

ROBYN BECK/AFP/Getty Images

Chance the Rapper, 2017 Grammys, Winners

Kevin Winter/Getty Images for NARAS

Alessia Cara, 2018 Grammys

Jeffrey Neira/CBS via Getty Images

Dua Lipa, 2019 Grammys, 2019 Grammy Awards, Winners

ROBYN BECK/AFP/Getty Images

Watch E!’s Live From the Red Carpet 2020 Grammy Awards coverage Sunday, Jan. 26 starting at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT followed by the Grammys telecast at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on CBS. And for a recap of music’s biggest night immediately following the show, don’t miss the E! After Party special at 11:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. PT, only on E!

Next Post